The Fog Has Lifted

It’s been quite some time since I’ve had a chance to sit down and blog! I must say I’ve had many days that I have wanted to, but have found myself strategically snuggled between two cute little boys and unable to operate my computer. That’s okay! I’m happy to have those sweet moments, but as it happens I presently have two sleeping kiddos and a hot minute to update!

Mr. Rainbow, Jax, is now almost four months old! I cannot believe it! He is a giant chunk of a baby, complete with chubby rolls and chins for days. He’s doing great, and we are all sleeping pretty well each night. With that in mind, I must say that I finally feel as though the fog has lifted for me. It definitely took me a while to recover from the pregnancy and delivery this time. Not only was I physically exhausted and sore, but I was so mentally exhausted by the time Jax finally arrived that I was ready to sleep for a week straight! Of course that was not possible while caring for a new guy, but it sure sounded like what I needed. I felt as if I had been pregnant forever! Five months with Eliza and nine months with Jax meant I was pregnant for almost 14 months straight. Yikes. My body still feels as though it is recovering. I am pretty sure it will be several more months before that feeling fades away. I must add that  I was very fortunate that Mr.G was able to be home with me for a few weeks in order to help care for Mr. E and allow me and baby to rest and nurse. And repeat. And repeat. And repeat. Oh, and did I mention Mr. Rainbow had colic? Not the made-up kind, but the real deal, screaming for several hours straight every single night kind. Thankfully, I just went on autopilot from 6-10 or so each night, and then collapsed in defeat. Several dozen home-remedies later, I was skilled in carrying my child like a Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade float, bicycle legs, and politely stating the methods of madness I tried in order to relieve said Float’s colic  It was a very trying month and a half, and we are all grateful that this, too, has passed!

Now, we are all enjoying our new normal as a family of four. I am sure I’m not alone when I mention that the time between dinner and bed is the most challenging of our day. Between baths, snacks, snuggles, and struggles, Momma is definitely wiped out by the end of the process! I’m still trying to sort out how to streamline the process, but it just hasn’t happened yet.

How long was it until the fog lifted for you after your baby was born?

How do you streamline “the witching hours” between dinner and bed?

2 thoughts on “The Fog Has Lifted

Leave a comment