Simple Pleasures…The Mom’s Edition

I remember being a single, 20-something working a full-time job and having more money than I needed and time to spare. Then I became a mom and all that changed. I used to enjoy weekly mani-pedis, new clothes every week, and expensive makeup and hair care products. I was spoiled. I did whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted and had no one to answer to and no one to tell me no. I indulged myself whenever I could because there was no reason not to do it! I did not think about how many luxuries I was indulging in until that fateful day that EPT said +.

Now that I’ve entered the less selfish phase of my life known as motherhood, I have learned to appreciate the simple pleasures of life. Things like a hot shower, peeing in solitaire, clean sheets, an empty sink, a two-hour trip every six weeks to get my hair colored, and the monthly date nights that I get with my honey. While all these things seem rather mundane, I’ve grown to appreciate them infinitely more than I ever did before motherhood. They’re scarce. We all know that scarce resources means higher values, and just like my uber-boring economics class taught me, these things are worth a shit ton!

I’d never change anything about my journey as a mom. In fact, I’m eternally grateful for the opportunity to be someone’s go-to gal for the rest of our lives…or until some evil woman comes along and marries my precious baby angel and steals him away from me. But I’ll save that post for another day. Evil mother-in-law in the making? Probably not. Lord knows that makes life difficult!

So now that I’ve learned to be grateful for the simple things in life, I ask, what are other mommas grateful to do or have that they may have not appreciated before baby?

2 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures…The Mom’s Edition

Leave a Reply

