The Pinterest Pandemic

English: Red Pinterest logo

English: Red Pinterest logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Unless you’re living under a rock or have a penis, you probably know that one of the hottest things around is Pinterest. This genius site is probably one of the reasons why I’m up late at night laughing out loud, web surfing, and grasping for reasons as to why I’m not kicking major ass at keeping my house organized, spotless, and running as efficiently as an Army barracks. At any rate, this site is doing something pretty cool: it’s inspiring people.

I have countless gal pals who are completing Pinterest inspired projects and they’re not afraid to brag about it. Pinterest is even popping up as a party theme! Bring a crafty project inspired by Pinterest to the party and see who’s got the most free time on their hands to sift through the literally millions of pins. I kid, I kid. But let’s be real…we ALL love to waste time on the internet. It’s a great way to lose track of time and your surroundings. I can get so engulfed in reading and researching and poring over ideas that I completely forget about my “real” life. I have a Pinterest closet full of impeccably styled clothes, a Pinterest house with granite countertops, cascading water features in the back yard, and a labradoodle lapping the picket fence. I have a Pinterest kitchen where I have limitless cooking time and the resources to match. I have enough DIY projects in my Pinterest pocket to last me until 2020. I have an extensive Pinterest collection of adorable children’s crafts and activities to complete with my toddler. This list, while dragging on, is not all-inclusive. I’m leaving stuff out. For reals, dawg.

Keeping Pinterest in mind, I have to wonder: are we, as a society, living in a fantasy?

Pinterest is just one superficial example of fantasy living, but there are a multitude of like-minded concepts floating around us. Video games such as The Sims created an entire genre of fantasy life. What about the housing market crash? People wanted homes they could not afford, and poof! Their fantasy became a short-lived reality and then a tragic nightmare. Is it denial of our true selves that fuels this stuff, or is it simply idle recreation? And if it is denial, is there anything wrong with that? I mean, I can’t afford the movie star wardrobe I call “My Style,” but does that mean I’m in denial of my reality, or does it mean that I’m just a dreamer at heart?

Despite my despair over whether I’m in denial or just suffering from stifled creativity, I’m loving it. It’s addictive because it’s always changing, and there is absolutely something for everyone. I’ve been inspired to put my heart and hands to work, completing and planning to complete projects that I’d otherwise never even imagined. I’m trying to be organized. I’m trying to feel accomplished. I’m trying to be productive. I’m trying to be my best ME 🙂 I mean, regular old Ashley is wonderful. Don’t get me wrong. But inspired and creative Ashley is way more interesting and fun!

So while I am sifting through Pinterest seeking inspiration, I’m dreaming. And dreaming is beautiful.

Thank you, Pinterest. Like so many others, you’ve inspired me.

One thought on “The Pinterest Pandemic

Leave a Reply

