Another 20something Birthday

My birthday. Yes, it came again this year. That little knock upon the door of reality is getting loud, and I’m slowly realizing that I have already celebrated another birthday. I’m not feeling OLD yet, but I am feeling more “experienced.” So why is it that we fret about our age, ladies? Well, it’s because we’re not getting any younger, but we sure are getting wiser!

I remember the days of yore when I would celebrate my birthday in style: booze, boys, and booty dancing. It was an event. Sixteen, 18, 21, 25. They all seemed like awesome milestones. Then something clicked inside my mind: I’m getting older. It really was happening. The younger years seemed to humor me as I reflected on my crazy girl shenanigans. Momentarily I thought to myself, ‘Oh, to be THAT young again.’ Wait, no. Clip that. Let me tell ya why.

I’m like a fine wine, ladies and gentleman. Yep, I’m using that cliché. I’m getting better with age. I’m growing by leaps and bounds, and I’m not talking about my clothing size. I’m talking about growing as a person. Looking back at 27, I can say that I’ve gained a lot of perspective. Here are some of the more important things I’ve learned over the past year.

1. People suck. People, in general, suck. A lot. A vast majority of people I’ve met in the past several years have proven to be selfish, self-serving, rude, immature cheats and sneaks. I’m talking men and women. In general, I’ve learned over the past few years that people suck.

2. I am worthy. I’m worthy of happiness, friendship, and love. When I was younger, I sometimes wondered if I deserved such things because of the way people treated me. Well, guess what? I do deserve those things! It took me a while to realize it, but I am definitely worthy!

3. I can be single. Yep. I can do it. I have done it. It was good for me. Being single and regrouping can really put things into perspective. I had time to reassess what I want, what I need, and what I have to offer. I also was able to figure out what I can deal with and what’s a deal-breaker. Refer back to #1. The applicant pool shrank in a big way, but the quality went through the roof!  It was a really good thing for me!

4. Being a mom is tough work. It takes strength and fortitude that I didn’t realize I even had within myself. Shout out to my Mama! She’s made it look easy for the past 28 years.

So, as I enter the new year as an older and wiser woman, I’m extremely thankful. I’m thankful for what I’ve had, what I have now,  and what I will have in the future. I know that 28 is the beginning of a new chapter for me, and I am GLAD that 27 is out the door!

2 thoughts on “Another 20something Birthday

Leave a Reply

